Today I celebrate 5 years of abstinence. Glory to God! I am merely a passenger, and He is the pilot. 

Here are some highlights from today’s reading from The One Year Bible:

At that time the Spirit of the LORD will come powerfully upon you, and you will prophesy with them. You will be changed into a different person. (‭1 Samuel‬ ‭10‬:‭6‬ NLT)

The Spirit alone gives eternal life. Human effort accomplishes nothing. And the very words I have spoken to you are spirit and life. (‭John‬ ‭6‬:‭63‬ NLT)

For he satisfies the thirsty and fills the hungry with good things. (‭Psalms‬ ‭107‬:‭9‬ NLT)

I finally understand what it is to be a new creation, born again into new life. I had always been a professor of the Truth, but resisted His authority in things I determined to my my business and not His. Now that my whole life, right down to the last bite, belong to God, and I seek Him for every morsel of every meal and everything in between, I have no cause for worry and no need for control. That makes any day a blessed day, even if it is the 1,827th one in a row.

Holy Father, today, I celebrate the good things You give me and the good thing into which You are making me. Thank You!

