“But the mob shouted louder and louder, demanding that Jesus be crucified, and their voices prevailed.” (‭Luke‬ ‭23‬:‭23‬ NLT)

The voices we permit to prevail direct our thoughts, our rationale, and finally our actions. Pilate succumbed to a crowd manipulated by fear and greed and so sent our Lord to the cross. We are perpetrators of Pilate’s corruption when we, filled with worry or regret, demand our addictions be set free while we give up the King of our Sunday to satisfy a Thursday night whim.

Holy Father, today, I quiet the voices of my worry and shame, and I turn to You, seeking Your still, soft voice. Let Your quiet whisper call my every fiber to attention and make my actions Your own design. You who gave me ears to hear, let me know Your voice, and call me like a favored lamb into Your strong and protective embrace.

