“Teach us to realize the brevity of life, so that we may grow in wisdom.”

“Satisfy us each morning with your unfailing love, so we may sing for joy to the end of our lives.” (‭Psalms‬ ‭90‬:‭12, 14‬ NLT)

Tonight, we will say our final goodbye to my precious friend, Frances W., who had learned to live this way, satisfied each morning with the love of God, her Higher Power, who gave her joy, peace, and purpose all her days. Recognizing her limits, she lived each day purposefully, and encouraged others to share in the joy of a life so lived. I miss her already, and weep for her family and other friends, but I cherish the privilege of knowing and loving her. She will remain a large part of my life and recovery until we meet again at the end of this “Road of Happy Destiny” which she trod so well.

Holy Father, today I am grateful for the ones You sent ahead of me, who tread the path of recovery and made it more passable for me. I thank You for Frances, who loved, encouraged, and inspired me. You have blessed me with an extended family through my recovery fellowship, and she was a sweet matron and sister for many more than me. Help me remember her example, as she did so well to follow Yours. Give me grace to live like she did, loving others, and lighting up rooms with the joy she carried inside.

