Dear God,

man bowed in prayerMy relationships with other people are not going according to the grace with which you bought me and established relationship with me. I want what I do and say to be an overflow of the joy I have in You, and yet bitterness keeps coming out. My feelings still get hurt though I recognize that those around me are spiritually sick. I have a tendency to forget that I am still sick too, recovering from the spiritual disease of Self, and that others need my patience rather than my dictates about how to get well.

Help me to remember there is nothing I can do to right anyone’s wrongs, neither those of my own nor those of others. Keep me humble and mold me into a representation of the grace You offer to all mankind. Instead of making me attractive, let the way I live be an attractant to You. I confess I am still dragging around old defective character traits, which I offer again to You to remove in Your timing. Help me loosen my hold on them so they are at Your disposal. Self still swims about in the soup of my emotions. Please filter it out and keep it from factoring in my decisions. Help me treat people the way You would have me rather than the way that best serves me.

I am grateful for the restoration You have accomplished, but I know that my sanity still bears the cracks and holes of its once shattered condition. I know its leaks are manifestations of my own reluctance to surrender all to You. Please remedy my leakiness. I want to be a trustworthy vessel for You. Please take all the broken pieces and mend me the way that only You can. I am unable to repair myself on my own. Just to think I might is another defect of prideful selfishness.

Give me an undivided heart, that I may honor Your name. I long for the integrity that can only come from working with and in You. Make Your purposes my only motive, Your call my only mission, Your love my only resource. Make me more like You.

In the name of Christ Jesus who was broken for my wholeness, Amen!

 

Psalm 86:11 (NIV)

Teach me your way, Lord,

   that I may rely on your faithfulness;

give me an undivided heart,

   that I may fear your name.

