groundhogIn the movie Groundhog Day, Bill Murray’s character is cursed, or blessed depending on your perspective, with living the same day over and over again until he gets it “right” (according to Hollywood). When I woke up this morning, I couldn’t help but feel a little like life as I lived it yesterday was starting all over again. I didn’t feel washed by the morning sunrise or baptized by a good night’s sleep. I wasn’t particularly refreshed with pleasant slumber or rekindled in my desire to live life right. It just felt like another raking over the same coals, a rattling of the same cage, one more tally mark scratched on the wall of my existence. Since the previous attempt at a 24-hour period did not prove particularly successful, the prospect of repeating it was distasteful.

As I began to do my devotions, however, I recognized today for the opportunity it represents rather than the obstacle. Instead of one more day to endure, I was given one more chance to get one right. Sure, I was already off to a bad start, and will undoubtedly be dissatisfied when it comes time for my daily review tonight, but I have something like fifteen hours before that time comes. Surely I can do something between now and then to begin to turn this funk around. I may not get it perfect, but there is little doubt I can do better today than I did yesterday, and I will reach for progress wherever I can get it.

Dear Father, today, I thank You for this new day, an example that your mercies are new every morning. Rescue me from the self-centered anxieties that make me fear one of my yesterdays happening again today.

