abundant life water glass But he said to them, “I must proclaim the good news of the kingdom of God to the other cities also; for I was sent for this purpose.” (Luke 4:43, NRSV)

Jesus declares His purpose as proclaiming the good news of the kingdom of God. If that is His purpose, and I am His disciple, then it should be my purpose too. In John 10:10, Jesus describes His purpose this way:

“I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly.”

The two are not contradictory. The Gospel of Jesus Christ brings abundant life! First it brings eternal life to the soul, then it gives power to live today according to Spirit, and last, depending on our level of submission to it, the Spirit gives life to our mortal bodies. According to Romans 8:11:

If the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, he who raised Christ from the dead will give life to your mortal bodies also through his Spirit that dwells in you.

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately about the life of our mortal bodies, and this verse keeps coming up. Another one I received last night is Psalm 73:26:

My flesh and my heart may fail,
but God is the strength[or rock] of my heart and my portion forever.

We tend to stand in the way of our own good. At some point on that life continuum, our will sets God’s boundary. He wants us to live eternally with Him, but we want to have a little more fun with sin before we make a commitment, and the sin entangles the lost, who spends eternity without God. He wants us to live for more than just the escape from judgment, but we insist on behaving our way into grace and go through this present life frustrated until He draws back the veil of our lives and reveals it for the futile effort it had been. He wants us to have abundant life here and now, but we will not get off the couch, so we suffer from the inflammation of our own consequence, serving the will of the commercial and warping our spiritual gifts with neglect. He wants to heal us, but we doubt that He can, will, or wants to, so we suffer needlessly. God is always trying to turn up the gift of Life to us, and we are constantly turning it down in preference for another portion of our will, wish and way, this time with extra toppings please.

Dear Father, today, I trust you with my soul, my life, and my health. I offer myself a living sacrifice to You, and submit to Your will regarding my condition, my longevity, my power, my purpose, and my every step. Whether You decide that my flesh flourish or fail, I offer it all to You, that every heartbeat, however many You supply, would be devoted to Your purpose of translating the abundant life of Your Kingdom to the people of Earth. Make me fruitful, Lord Jesus, so that my life is an acceptable marker of Your love and life. I remain a devoted citizen of Heaven, and eagerly await Your collection of the saints, and the wedding supper of the Lamb.

