16 So they went with haste and found Mary and Joseph, and the child lying in the manger. 17 When they saw this, they made known what had been told them about this child; 18 and all who heard it were amazed at what the shepherds told them. (Luke 2:16-18, NRSV)

The shepherds responded with excitement, enthusiastically shared their testimony, and had an effect on those around them. They made their witness a priority. They could have rolled over on a stump, strummed a couple chords on a lyre and wondered among themselves what other people had visitations by angels that night, but they didn’t. They rushed to the scene to make themselves witnesses to and part of history.

What special move of God have you witnessed that could amaze and encourage someone near you? Did you share it and multiply the blessing, or hoard it for yourself and extinguish its power?

When we credit ourselves with our recovery we not only rob God of the credit due Him, but we limit the inspirational potential of our experience. Statements such as, “I’ve lost weight,” and, “I have recovered,” put the focus of others on us and take it off the One who recovers us. If you see me in my story you might not consider it duplicatable, but if you see God in my story you may consider that if He can recover me He can recover you. We who have been courted by every imaginable diet and weight loss scheme are all too familiar with the “results are not typical” exemplar that is always used by marketers to make a so-called “health program” appear better than it is. I’ve got a great big Bible next to me filled to the brim with real examples of just how powerful, awesome, and typically wonderful my God is, and my story merely translates the wonders of His power to today’s calendar.

God lives! He lives in me! And I live an abundant life because I give my will and choices over to Him!

Dear Father, today, make me part of the history You have written and help me to be a faithful witness of it as I live it out in Jesus’ name.

