Marys visitor38 Then Mary said, “Here am I, the servant of the Lord; let it be with me according to your word.” Then the angel departed from her. (Luke 1:38, NRSV)

 

I admire Mary’s humble submission. She was given an honor, but it must have been frightening to be approached by an archangel, told she was going to bear a child by the power of our invisible God, and would be an unwed mother while engaged to be married. There is considerable cause to be concerned for a young girl who had maintained her purity, yet she was willing to do whatever it took to please the Lord. I am inspired by the unconditional willingness of such a spiritual hero. I can say little else.

 

Dear Father, today, I too submit to Your will and Your purposes. Let it be with me according to Your Word.

