23 Jesus said to him, “If you are able!—All things can be done for the one who believes.” 24 Immediately the father of the child cried out,[h] “I believe; help my unbelief!” (Mark 9:23-24, NRSV)

rotary dial switchEven those of us who have completed Step Two, and have come “to believe that a power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity,” still sometimes need a little help overcoming the leftover doubt that remains. Faith, like willingness, is more of a dial than a toggle switch. Though it is on, it could stand to be turned up, and Jesus remains faithful to answer even the tiniest faith with His Kingdom power through His Spirit.

Paul commended faith as being the stuff by which we can believe that God exists as a Rewarder of those that love Him (Hebrews 11:6). John wrote that faith in Jesus Christ as God’s Son brings us into a loving relationship with Him that casts out all fear. So love is the force that turns up the dial of faith, while fear is the counterweight working against love.

15 God abides in those who confess that Jesus is the Son of God, and they abide in God. 16 So we have known and believe the love that God has for us.

18 There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear…” (1 John 4:15, 16, 18, NRSV)

 

Dear Father, today, help me to walk in love, to show that love to others, and to turn up the dial on my faith. I believe in Your promises because I love You; and I can only love You because You first loved me. Thank You for finding me even in my doubt, and for showing me love when I was unlovable. Help me in my unbelief! Halleluiah Yeshua Messiah!

