I wanted to share this declaration I made during a conversation with a dear friend yesterday, not to divulge the identity of or embarrass my fellow, but because this statement really constituted my devotional statement for the day.

I come from a long line of staunch Bible-thumping men and women who claimed to be Christians but who spent most of their energy trying to prove everyone else wrong and beating down those close to them. It is likely that none of them would be pleased with the content grace in which I live and have my serenity. They were the Pharisees (Matthew 23) of this age, and I was one too, until I knelt with my sponsor and truly took Step Three at the feet of Him who had done so much for me and yet to whom I had done so much harm – Jesus Christ.

I believe that Jesus is the fulfillment, answer, and completion of every revelation of God to man. The Bible is the proof that the “Great Spirit” of the universe is God, that the Creator of nature’s beauty is God, the line of Law is God, the motivating energy of all life is God – and that every expression of that God was brought together and introduced to mankind in the person of Jesus Christ. (Christ means “anointed one” and refers to His being The One, the Answer, the Redeemer of Earth back to God.) This explains my acceptance of other religions. None of them are any more or less guilty than I was when I understood only the “religion” of my belief, before I came to a spiritual awakening of my faith.

Make no mistake. Yahweh is God, and all other gods are not. I do believe, however, that God revealed Himself to the continents of the globe in various ways, to Israel He was the Law-giver; to the Native American, the Great Spirit; to the Japanese, the Creator of the Cherry blossom and all things beautiful; to the Indian, the Spirit originating all spiritual energy and honoring all who live pleasing lives.

As it is written in Romans 1:20 (NIV):

For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature—have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that people are without excuse.

People have developed various expressions of this divine nature, but all have been answered, completed, and fulfilled in the person of Jesus Christ, the Way, the Truth, and the Life (John 14:6). It is in this Life that I have found vital living possible.

