I love the story of Simon Peter trying to walk on the water! There is just so much allegory to the trials in my life in it. I mean well. I start strong. I reach for relationship. Very often, however, I notice the strong wind and begin to sink.

But when he noticed the strong wind, he became frightened, and beginning to sink, he cried out, “Lord, save me!” Jesus immediately reached out his hand and caught him, saying to him, “You of little faith, why did you doubt?” (Matthew 14:30-31, NRSV)

I do not understand why doubt plagues me so much, but it’s weight is to faith as a Rock is to water.

Dear Father, today, keep my eyes above the waves and on You, my Savior, my Redeemer, my Friend, Yeshua Messiah, God with me, Jesus Christ.

Oceans (Where Feet May Fail), by Hillsong United

