There were a few great follow-up verses as I caught up on the NT in a Year readings today.

This morning, the prayer focus of my post “Attention Deficit in the Outfield” was on perceiving God’s will and capitalizing each opportunity as God reveals the “new thing” He is doing in my life. To that, God adds this:

But blessed are your eyes, for they see, and your ears, for they hear. Truly I tell you, many prophets and righteous people longed to see what you see, but did not see it, and to hear what you hear, but did not hear it. (Matthew 13:16-17, NRSV)

It is humbling to imagine all the Bible heroes who longed to have the personal relationship with God that Jesus made possible, but who died having never tasted it. Hebrews 11 lists a roll call of faith, and I have what none of them had – personal, intimate access to the Father through the Son, Jesus Christ. I’ve been excited about progressive lenses and digital hearing aids, but they’re nothing compared to the eyes and ears of the Spirit which God enables to perceive His truth and receive His love!

Second was this little statement, that echoes the focus of “Faith and Obedience” from 01-17-14. When the focus was on the fact that our physical senses coupled with our doubt limit faith’s ability to do its work. This verse, set in the explanation of Jesus’ rejection in His home town, amplifies my reflections about doubt hamstringing faith.

And he did not do many deeds of power there, because of their unbelief. (Matthew 13:58, NRSV)

This confirms, in my spirit, that the perceptions of the flesh are at odds with Kingdom truths, and I need to be attentive to the Spirit, giving only referential notice to the observations of my earthly eyes, ears, and emotions.

Last, in Matthew Chapter 14, I found three statements of Jesus that confirmed for me that I am on the right track in following His way. They come from verses 14, 16, and 18:

14 When he went ashore, he saw a great crowd; and he had compassion for them and cured their sick.
16 Jesus said to them, “They need not go away; you give them something to eat.”
18 And he said, “Bring them here to me.” Matthew 14:14, 16, 18, NRSV

As I was considering purpose statement verbiage and articles of incorporation for the mission my wife and I are putting together, these three things came up: heal the sick, feed the hungry, and bring the hurting to Jesus. What a beautiful thing it is to hear God speak through a timely examination of His word!

Dear Father, today, help me pay no attention to the wind and waves that lick at my heels as You reach Your hand over the waters to take mine. Help me find and do Your will, today, and in the future You hold in Your hand.

