I’ve gotten a little behind on my New Testament in a Year readings, so the most pressing part of my catchup came from the one two days ago:

“Come to me, all you that are weary and are carrying heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me; for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”  (Matthew 11:28-30, NRSV)

This verse came into my mind this morning before it came into my view, as I responded to a precious lady who commented on yesterday’s post.  We carry so much!  Even those of us who profess to follow Jesus, the Lifter of burdens and Liberator from bondage, still try to carry the weight of our crucified flesh and so much of the worries and expectations of the world.  Why?  Because we are human, and just as gravity pulls our bodies to the earth, our sensations and desires drag us back to the worry and care of this world (1 John 2:16).  Jesus, who said He came that we might have life and have it to the fullest (John 10:10) repeatedly instructed His followers to stop worrying, to lay down burdens, to love one another as oneself (which requires that one love oneself, a part I always omitted), to trust in Him, to forgive as He forgives (which also applies to self or it doesn’t work), and to be at peace.  His was a spiritual liberation that makes all the rest possible (John 6:63).

Dear Father, today, help me live in Your solution rather than in the world’s problems, cares, concerns, regrets, and anxieties.  All of that is too much for me to bear, and I acknowledge that You never intended for me to try.  Thank You for the liberty from it!

