20140115-203120.jpg“You have a fatal disease,” the words cut like knives to the one who hears them, but the truth is we all have contracted a fatal disease: the disease of a sinful nature. The prognosis is death – first spiritual, then physical, then soul death which takes eternity to experience since the soul lasts forever. There is one Cure, and it is a sure thing: completely let go of this nature and all its preferences in exchange for seeking God’s will and the relationship He has facilitated through the God-man, Jesus. In this relationship is life, light and peace, even in trouble and want.

Those who find their life will lose it, and those who lose their life for my sake will find it. (Matthew 10:39, NRSV)

“Get all you can!” “You deserve it!” “He who dies with the most toys wins.” All these are lies of the destroyer. There is one who wants us miserable, defeated and dead, and it is the same one who tries to tell me to indulge myself. Self is the problem! Losing self in preference for God’s Way, Truth and Life is the key to abundant life.

Dear Father, today, may I silence the flesh that cries to be indulged, and instead content myself with Your provision for me. I acknowledge that what You give me is far better than anything I could have craved. Thank You for providence, and for liberty from the slavery of pleasure.

I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. (Galatians 2:20, NIV)

