But Jesus, perceiving their thoughts, said, ‘Why do you think evil in your hearts?’ (Matthew 9:4, NRSV)

The Lord knows my thoughts, and He bought all of me, and built me in the first place, so why should I try to reserve my thought life from His care and control? The thoughts of the religious leaders were judgmental, arrogant, doubtful, accusatory, and Christ called them “evil.” The religious people of Jesus’ day, the Pharisees, were accusing Jesus of blasphemy (impersonating God). The irony is that He was the only One for whom blasphemy was impossible. I, on the other hand, play God as a matter of pathological habit.

Apparently I’m not alone. Page 62 of the Big Book of Alcoholics Anonymous sets me in good company when it describes the keystone of the new arch through which we pass to freedom:

First of all, we had to quit playing God. It didn’t work. Next, we decided that hereafter in this drama of life, God was going to be our Director.

Dear Father, today, I offer my whole self to You, the actions, the inaction, the thoughts, the cravings, all of it. Mold me according to Your will and keep me in Your loving hand. Forgive me for my evil thoughts, and cleanse me from them, dear Lord, I pray.

