Christ Rebukes the Wind and the Waves by Daniel Jimick

In today’s reading of Bible Gateway’s New Testament in a Year, Jesus demonstrates that He is Lord over men, nature, and spirits, leading thousands, commanding demons, and even calming the weather.

26 And he said to them, “Why are you afraid, you of little faith?” Then he got up and rebuked the winds and the sea; and there was a dead calm. 27 They were amazed, saying, “What sort of man is this, that even the winds and the sea obey him?” (Matthew 8:26-27, NRSV)

The disciples were in despair, crying out for rescue, proclaiming they were doomed even in Jesus’ face (v. 25).  The tendency to be overwhelmed by one’s circumstances even in such close proximity and due awareness of the power of God seems ludicrous, but how often I have done the same thing!  Eagerly devoting myself to the will and purposes of God at daybreak, I am often perplexed and frenzied by noon.  The flesh has a way of resurrecting itself and reasserting its dominion if it is not kept crucified through prayer and submission (Galatians 2:20).

Dear Father, today, help me remember that You are Lord of all, and that nothing will happen today over which You do not have complete control.  Calm the storm within me so that I may bear this one day at a time according to Your will, helping all I can and harming none.

Today, I have an opportunity to volunteer, right here in town, with an organization which operates in the same region of Africa to which my wife and I are being called to full-time ministry.  We are acquainted with the founding directors of this ministry, but it will be good to work alongside them today, developing relationships, connecting with like minds and hearts, and serving God by raising funds for orphans we may very likely meet in April.  The weather forecast looks dismal for a fund raising carnival, but that makes today’s reading all the more apropos.

