Wash Whiter than SnowJesus heals, and He has made it abundantly clear in His actions and statements that He wants us healed.  Today’s reading in Bible Gateway’s New Testament in a Year reading plan visits Matthew 8, where Jesus healed several people.

and there was a leper[b] who came to him and knelt before him, saying, “Lord, if you choose, you can make me clean.”  He stretched out his hand and touched him, saying, “I do choose. Be made clean!” Immediately his leprosy[c] was cleansed.” (Matthew 8:2-3, NRSV)

As a recovering food addict and compulsive overeater, I have discovered that my problem is less with my substance of choice than with my self-centered will.  My Higher Power demonstrated, in this brief passage, that He is willing and able to make me clean and rid me of the diseased spirit that isolates me from Him and from others.  Like He did with the leper, He has given me one instruction: to receive the healing and to be clean.

What uncleanness remains in your life?  Are you willing to be cleansed of it?

Dear Father, today, show me what remains of my self-stained soul and help me to release it to Your cleansing power.  “Cleanse me with hyssop, and I will be clean; wash me and I will be whiter than snow.” (Psalm 51:7, NIV)

