20140108-071828.jpgIn today’s reading of Bible Gateway’s New Testament in a Year, Jesus speaks about treasures and light, neither of which matter at all if we are living in darkness. One of the darkest darknesses I know is that of despair. That is why I am grateful for Christ’s instruction on living one day at a time.

“So do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring worries of its own. Today’s trouble is enough for today.” (Matthew 6:34, NRSV)

I find it comforting that Jesus acknowledges the weight of one day. He is well aware that it is plenty burdensome enough without packing on all the worries and concerns of other days with it. Only when we live one day at a time can we find the joy of life that becomes our light. How precious the Light is to eyes that have been forever darkened by worry!

Dear Father, today, I thank you for liberty from every day but this one, and I acknowledge that You hold all my days in the palm of Your hand. Help me to live each breath to its fullest, neither worrying about the next nor dragging my regrets along. You are King, and I trust You with all my moments! Thank You for being a powerful, loving, and merciful King!

