My impending retirement, though still nine weeks away, is beginning to have an effect on me at work. I have been marginalized more and more these last few weeks, and was even told by my boss this afternoon, “Shut up. You’re retired anyway!” Later, seeing friends at work I don’t see regularly, I was told, “Goodbye,” by two of them who shook my hand like it really was goodbye!

I have been an active, contributing part of my organization up to this point. Junior employees have even complimented me for staying in the game even this close to retirement, like it was my first year. But the events of today took the wind right out of me. I don’t feel like crossing the street for my boss, and I’m not sure I would drag a hose to him if he were on fire right now. I caught myself doing precious little at work today. I’m not satisfied with myself, because I recognize I’m pouting with my inaction in response to how I felt at being belittled by someone I expected to be a trusted authority.

The fact is my expectations are MY problem, and acting according to feelings is the root of my disease, so I know I have to let this go.

“Whatever you do, do your work heartily, as for the Lord rather than for men” (Colossians 3:23, NASB)

Heavenly Father, help me forgive those who harm me; and help me not to expect security in authority from anyone but You. Christ forgave His crucifixion attendants. Surely I can rise above a little chiding. Help me gracefully accept the changes going on in my life, rather than resent them. I look forward to what lies ahead. Help me remember that. …but not to the exclusion of what You have for me to do today. Your will be done!

