20140105-200938.jpg

“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.” (Matthew 5:6, NRSV)

The word “righteousness” gets a bum rap because it is so often linked with the prefix “self” but, as a recovering compulsive overeater, I can relate to these words “hunger” and “thirst.” My disease lies to me and tells me that deep desire I have for aligned relationship with God is really just desire for temporary pleasure. It tells me that if I feel good for a moment I might forget the eternal longing programmed into me by my Creator. The substances and behaviors I use to numb the emptiness lie to me too. They tell me they are effective at making pain go away, when really they just delay the hurt a little and multiply it a lot. Fellow addict, what we truly crave is a personal relationship with the Holy Creator. All else is a fraud and a counterfeit! The promise of this Scripture is that, when we finally recognize the true object of our desire, He is faithful to satisfy us. Praise God!

Dear Father, today, help me live by Your Spirit and not by my earthly senses. Help my faith become my sight, and discernment my perception. Thank You for the deposit of Your Spirit that seals me. Lead me, by that same Spirit, to please You and live according to Your purposes. I am hungry for right relationship and perfect alignment with You, and I don’t know what to call it but righteousness, so fill me, Lord, to be a vessel, not to store up Your loving power, but to pour it out on as many as I may contact.

