Satan Tempting Christ Scheffer“Then Jesus was led up by the Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted by the devil.”  (Matthew   Matthew 4:1, NRSV)

Even though this chapter is home to the phrase, “Not by bread alone,” what struck me most was this statement about the Spirit leading Jesus to an appointment with the devil.  It reminded me that God’s direction for me may not always be pleasant or easy, though it is for my good, and ultimately for the purposes of God.  I need to be courageous in my dealings and goings about, cautious not to shrink back from the scary places as long as I am following the hand of God where He leads me.  The easy way is not my path!

Dear Father, today, lead me as You would have me go, not as I would.  Accomplish Your purposes in me and conform my will to Yours.  I choose to follow You.  Be my strength, that I might not disappoint.

