light dawning on cross2 The people who walked in darkness

Have seen a great light;

Those who dwelt in the land of the shadow of death,

Upon them a light has shined.

          Isaiah 9:2, NKJV

Darkness and death are words I would use to describe the condition I was in before recovery.  I was not physically dead but often wished I was, and often unconsciously worked toward my own demise, feeding my addiction and cravings, ignoring the basic necessities of life and, out of ignorance, completely neglecting my spirit.  I did not always wish to die, but wanted to put an end to the miserable life through which I was existing.  Thank God, He has made a way to end that misery by giving me abundant life through His death and not mine.  The weight of the world is on His shoulder not mine.  His peace enfolds me as He calls me His child.  He comforts me and guides me.  He can handle whatever I face.  He is more amazing than I can even imagine.

 

6 For unto us a Child is born,

Unto us a Son is given;

And the government will be upon His shoulder.

And His name will be called

Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God,

Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

          Isaiah 9:6, NKJV

 

Everlasting Father, today, I claim the death of Your Christ as ransom for my soul, and I put to death the desires of my flesh to live according to Your Spirit.  Thank You for the abundant life that comes from this simple act of surrendering to liberation, and for the knowledge that You have won a victory that is already determined.  Thank You for the Son, who bears my burdens and loves me enough to give up Himself for me.  Help me live in love as an expression of gratitude for that love.

