TrustTilesOn page 62 of the AA Big Book, we read that selfishness driven by fear is really the basic problem of the alcoholic, and by extension, of the addict and compulsive overeater.  The AA 12&12 clarifies it a little more:

“The chief activator of our defects has been self-centered fear – primarily fear that we would lose something we already possessed or would fail to get something we demanded.” (p. 76, Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions)

This morning I came upon a Scriptural explanation for why this is so well addressed in the life of one who chooses Jesus Christ as their Higher Power.  Paul is speaking to those who have demonstrated a willingness to give of themselves even to their own detriment and hardship when he says this:

19 And my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:19, NKJV)

The disease of addiction is one of anxiety, usually of not being supplied with all we want or imagine, but also of losing what we have.  How can we, who profess to trust in God Almighty, be anxious about tomorrow when our trust is truly full?  Put the other way, how can we who are anxious about tomorrow truthfully profess to trust in the Almighty God?  We cannot serve two masters!  Trust and fear are incongruent.  Yesterday, I fell into discontented anxiety when my schedule got awry.  Today, I choose trust.

Dear Father, today, I repent of my idolatry.  I refuse to worship the clock or myself, or even the responsibilities You give me as being bigger than You.  I believe in You, Lord.  Help me overcome my unbelief!  I want to know, love, and honor You more.  Help me to be consistently willing to submit to, and aware of, Your work in my life so that I do not wiggle and writhe against Your reshaping work in me.  Today, help me live in and by faith.

