“But I discipline my body and bring it into subjection…”  (1 Corinthians 9:27 NKJV)

We recovering addicts and compulsive overeaters are slaves freed from overindulgence.  How would it be, then, to allow our bodies to subject us again to the bonds from which we have emerged?  We ought to deny our body every impulse rather than let it have our head regarding this one.  If God is master over us, then we must be master over our bodies.  “No one can serve two masters” (Matthew 6:24, Luke 16:13).  If we let one rule over us, we will not be ruled by the other.

Dear Father, today, be my God and let all else bow before You.  Nothing comes between You and me today.  Let pride be crushed.  Let whimsy and discontent fade away.  Cause all around me that is not according to Your will give way to that which is.  Your kingdom come.  Your will be done, in my life as it is in Heaven!

