I read ahead to tonight’s “Evening” portion of Charles Spurgeon’s Morning and Evening devotion, and found this:

“Never shall you come into such a position that Christ cannot aid you. No pinch shall ever arrive in your spiritual affairs in which Jesus Christ shall not be equal to the emergency, for your history has all been foreknown and provided for in Jesus.”

I have learned that addiction and compulsive eating fall in the category of anxiety disorders.  That is, they have at their root an insecurity that robs their victims of the full benefit of today for fear of tomorrow.  The assurance penned in tonight’s meditation was tailor made for those of us whose lives have been characterized by the disease of addiction.

Even after reading this today, I was attacked by the one who seeks to steal, kill and destroy.  Just before I was to minister to others at church, I allowed my selfish pride to become bruised and wounded.  It would have come between me and service, but I chose instead to turn to God and ask for His help in recovering from the spiritual wound.  He showed up just in time, as a family that has been on my heart for the past week asked me to pray for them, demonstrating God’s spiritual move even when I am not looking for it.

Now if my emotional state would just shape up!

Dear Father, today, I submit to Your hand in my life and I ask that You make use of me, even though I don’t feel like it.  Accept this sacrifice as my living act of worship, and be exalted.  Lord, I ask only this of You: knowledge of Your perfect will for me and the power to carry it out.

