Therefore, with minds that are alert and fully sober, set your hope on the grace to be brought to you when Jesus Christ is revealed at his coming. As obedient children, do not conform to the evil desires you had when you lived in ignorance.
1 Peter 1:13-14 NIV

Recovery is a gift, an undeserved grace. It is, however, given with the purpose of equipping its recipient for service, and that in the name of the One who bestowed it. I have excused myself from service lately, citing a busy schedule. I have even refrained from identifying myself as a sponsor at recovery meetings, disappointed in the sponsorship support I have provided recently. I feel negligent and, as perfectionist as this particular recovering compulsive overeater is, have chosen to stand aside rather than risk someone’s recovery. There is the vanity! Recovery is a grace from God, not me, and not any other sponsor! Who am I to think I was responsible for anyone’s recovery when I cannot even claim credit for my own?

Sponsors are defined as those persons committed to abstinence and to living the twelve steps to the best of their ability. My job, as sponsor, is not to bestow recovery on someone, as if I ever could, but to share my own experience with one at a time. To sponsor is not even to tell another what to do, according to the Big Book. It is to share what worked for me, and provide an opportunity and encouragement for another to follow as s/he may decide.

When next it comes time for sponsors to introduce and qualify, I will simply say, “I am a recovering compulsive eater, committed to abstinence and to living the twelve steps to the best of m ability. I am willing to share my experience, strength, and hope with any who decide I have what they want, and ask me.” Those who need recovery cannot afford for me to shirk this responsibility, and I cannot risk missing the appointment for which I have been outfitted.

Dear Father, today, remind me that isolation is a condition symptomatic of the evil desires I had when I lived in my ignorance. Since You have brought me out and given me new light, help me always to be faithful to spread that light, reflecting it on all who seek it. May the glory be always to Jesus Christ, my Higher Power. Amen!

