Dear recovery sponsor,

I’m on the road, a dangerous place to be for a compulsive overeater. What makes it worse is that I’m not in the driver’s seat. I have packed several meals for just-in-case, and several of my staple foods. I have my mobile app for figuring and tracking my food choices, but I have no control over the stops we make or the contents of my sister’s pantry.

What’s more is that my precious bride and I are celebrating Thanksgiving apart. She stayed home with house, dogs, and our pet attack gorilla, while I am in a car with my parents and daughter, bound for the heartland of America. This is Mrs. L’s favorite holiday of the year, and part of me feels bad leaving her for this time, but I know she loves her alone time and she really wanted to be with her family at the holiday, and they live about three miles from our house. Furthermore, she is keeping the family’s dogs, and she loves that. I, on the other hand, have precious few opportunities to see my extended family, so when an empty seat was offered me for free during my two weeks off from work, I decided to take it.

Psalm 16:1-2 NIV
[1] Keep me safe, my God, for in you I take refuge. [2] I say to the Lord, “You are my Lord; apart from you I have no good thing.”

