John 15:9-12, NIV

“As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. 10 If you keep my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commands and remain in his love. 11 I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete. 12 My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you.

Jesus told me to follow His commands so that my joy may be complete.  Not so that He may have a multitude of followers, or that the world may go more smoothly, but for my benefit.  His primary command is to love one another.  The way He showed me to do this is sacrificially, in preference for my neighbor over myself.

Dear Father, today, forgive me for missing opportunities to love my neighbor.  Show me how to love like You love, and orchestrate new moments for me to exercise my love for You in behalf of others.

