Strength to Powerless Is40-29I haven’t written lately because I am a big fan of my childhood cartoon show host, Cowboy Bob, who used to say, “If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all.”  I am keenly aware, however, that when I am struggling, some folks are more inspired by my weakness than what they perceive as strength on my easier days.   Since it is in my weakness that God’s strength is revealed, it’s time to confess.

I have been closer this week to chucking all the progress I have made and getting myself a candy bar, a stiff drink, a cigarette, and a loose woman than I have been since I became abstinent from each of those things.  Disappointments in home relationships, work, school, and middle-age related health concerns, coupled with the anxieties of an upcoming retirement date and my lack of preparation for what comes next has me dumbfounded.  That weakness actually compounded my problem, because I felt unprepared for the big obstacles that lay in the path of my planned future, given that I am being so crushed by such trivial matters today.  Last night my very wise friend pointed out to me that it is never the big problems that get me, because I usually gear up for battle against the giants; but when I am overwhelmed it is usually by a unified attack of the “little things.”

Powerless!  Powerless!!  Couldn’t I have power over just a little bit?  The answer seems to be clearly, “No!”  So I submit to progressive lenses, hearing aids, hematology tests, flu shots, research papers, final exams and a graduation date that seems forever away, customer complaints, being minimized in my workplace, forty-six more workdays and retirement, and the reality that my family has other things to do besides interact with me in the few precious moments I get to be home and at ease.

And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 10 Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.   (2 Corinthians 12:9-10, NKJV)

Dear Father, today, make me content to rest in Your Power.  Keep me from harming others in my discontent.  Lord Jesus, I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!  And please bless those who are really suffering in the Philippines and elsewhere.  My troubles seem so petty in comparison to those whose hurts must torment You just now.  Open my eyes to see the bigger picture and not be so overwhelmed with my own myopic interests.

