child and dragon skullSo the Lord said to Cain, “Why are you angry? And why has your countenance fallen? If you do well, will you not be accepted? And if you do not do well, sin lies at the door. And its desire is for you, but you should rule over it.”  (Genesis 4:6-7, NKJV)

The sin, according to this passage, is not the ill-doing, but lies in wait for those who do it.  Sin desires to have you and me.  Like Satan himself, sin lurks about, seeking whom it may devour1. Cain and we, by extension, are called by God to rule over the sin that would have us.  We will not let it consume us, but we will stand before it, clad with the full spiritual armor of God2, the One who shuts the mouths of lions3, cools the fiery furnace4, and calms the raging seas5, and we take command of what threatens us, “Peace! Be still”6.  We resist it, and it will flee7.  “The Lord rebuke you”8, sin that would have me!  I am of the Father’s flock9, and I will not be consumed10!

 

Dear Father, today, help me tread on the lion and the bear, to crush the head of the serpent under my foot, and to seek You always.  I turn from my addiction and my selfish will, and call You God, for You alone are mighty to save!  Because of You and the sacrifice of Jesus, I have freedom from the bondage that once had me.  Thank You for saving me!  I choose to live today in Your will, by Your grace, in the abundant vitality You provide.

 

1.  1 Peter 5:8

2.  Ephesians 6:13

3.  Daniel 6:22, Hebrews 11:33

4.  Daniel 3:17, 25, 28

5.  Psalm 89:9, Jonah 1:15, Matthew 8:26-27, Mark 4:39-41, Luke 8:24-25

6.  Mark 4:39

7.  James 4:7

8.  Jude 1:9

9.  Psalm 95:7, Luke 12:32, John 10:14-16

10. Lamentations 3:22, Malachi 3:6

 

