…godliness is profitable for all things, having promise of the life that now is and of that which is to come. This is a faithful saying and worthy of all acceptance.  (1 Timothy 4:8-9, NKJV)

My turning to God for His will for me and the power to carry that out profits me more than anything I have ever prayed for or done for myself.  When I initially turned my will and my life over to the power of God I actually thought I was giving something up.  Surrender, after all, is the spiritual principle behind Step Three.

Iragi surrender 1991I remember the morning after Desert Shield turned into Desert Storm, when I hurried to the news to see what had happened to our troops in the Middle East while I slept.  The journalists showed Iraqi troops surrendering with eager anticipation of liberty from the tyrant Saddam Hussein.  Some hugged their attackers as though the U.S. troops were a liberating, rather than a conquering, force.

My surrender to God is that kind of surrender – the kind I am only too happy to offer.  All but destroyed by my former master, food, I cannot help but joyfully climb out of my foxhole and run to my liberator.

Dear Father, today, may I recall that I am unworthy in myself to claim any of Your character or provision, but because of Your grace, I can live in godliness, which profits me both in this temporary Earth life and in the Heavenly one to come.  May I and each of my fellows fully accept this, Your promise, of life abundant both now and forevermore – in Jesus’ name, amen!

