Charles Spurgeon’s Morning and Evening entry for October 22nd, in a response to the words in Hosea 14:4, “I will love them freely,” had this to say:

Remember, the softening of spirit is not a condition, for there are no conditions; the covenant of grace has no conditionality whatever; so that we without any fitness may venture upon the promise of God which was made to us in Christ Jesus, when he said, “He that believeth on him is not condemned.”

Have you ever had one of those days when, though you knew in your head you were loved by God and saved by God, and maybe even favored by God, you just weren’t feeling it?  This reminded me that when my feelings stray, God does not.  My Higher and Most Trustworthy Power does not leave me, nor does He turn from me even as many times as my fickle self yawns, turns, or even walks away from Him.  He bought me when I was dirtiest, He cleaned me up from my filth, and He knows I’m likely to get a little soil on my brand new clean clothes again.  He is faithful to receive me one more time every time.

Dear Father, today, I thank You for Your grace.  Help me to live steadfastly in it each moment of this day, which I turn over now to You.  Rather than exercise Your patience, let me bring You joy, as I remain in You, abide with You, and rest in the arms of You who loved me from before I was knit together in my mother’s womb.  Thank You for Your care!  Forgive me for so often dishonoring it.  This is Your day, Lord Jesus.  Let me not try to grab it back from You.

