John 1:32 (NLT)

Then John testified, “I saw the Holy Spirit descending like a dove from heaven and resting upon him.”

The Holy Spirit lighted on Jesus, and the Two were together again as it was from the beginning in Heaven (verse 1). Jesus has promised us this same visitation, this same communion. Will we shrug away the Spirit of our God, distracted by matters of Earth, or will we welcome His lighting and befriend the One who descends like a dove?

Dear Father, today, I welcome Your Spirit within me. Empower me to live in communion with You, that I might love Your children more effectively, and Your name might be glorified. Seal me with Your Spirit, and with its wings envelop me against the wiles of the prowling destroyer. Rebuke the thief from off me and mine, and deliver me from my own selfish way. Thank You for this, one more day of serving You rather than me and my addiction. I offer myself, this day You have given me, and all I have to You. Use me for Your divine purposes. Amen!

I will miss my morning recovery meeting today, to follow up with my new brothers in prison. This particular meeting is one I know little about, but I am looking forward to the learning experience and to fellowship with these very normal men who happen to have a larger fence on their yard than I.

