fragine flower gift receivedJohn 1:16 (NLT)

16 From his abundance we have all received one gracious blessing after another.[a]

Everything I have is more than enough!  God continues to give “grace upon grace,” as the Greek text reads.  As I weigh and measure my portion I am never left to want when I am eating according to the will of the Creator.  My old habit of hoarding supply is waning away as this reality becomes more and more real to me as my recovery grows.  God will never fail to give me, each day, my daily provision, even as He teaches me to rely on Him for it.

Today’s Morning and Evening devotional by Charles Spurgeon addressed this, emphasizing the importance of our discipline of prayer:

“If God gave us favours without constraining us to pray for them we should never know how poor we are, but a true prayer is an inventory of wants, a catalogue of necessities, a revelation of hidden poverty. While it is an application to divine wealth, it is a confession of human emptiness.”

There is perhaps none more aware of his natural emptiness as one recovering from addiction.  We, who make regular inventory of our lives, are all too familiar with the fears and ineptitudes that mar our character and make us weak.  Praise be to God, who is gracious and powerful enough to fill the gaps in our character with grace, a most healing balm, and who is willing, should we submit to Him, to fill us to overflowing with His powerful love, the strength of which is made all the more powerful in our weakness.

Dear Father, today, I trust You with my needs.  When I am against a deadline, I recognize You as the Creator and Keeper of time.  When my body needs fuel, I look to You for my daily provision, and thank You for liberty from overindulgence.  As I breathe today, I ask You to fill me with Your breath of life, both air and Spirit. As I depart from my house to seek Your will, protect the home and family You have given me to steward.  As I go about my walk, I ask You to plant my steps where You will and according to Your perfect plan for me.  Guard me from my adversary, even as I seek to serve those captive to him.  In all I do and all I am, glorify Your Name and the Name of Jesus, Your Son, in whom I have my salvation.  Amen!

