John 1:12-13 (NLT)

12 But to all who believed him and accepted him, he gave the right to become children of God. 13 They are reborn—not with a physical birth resulting from human passion or plan, but a birth that comes from God.

God gave me more than an adoption, though it was no insignificant thing to be chosen for family relationship with Him.  Not content that I should be stigmatized a foster, step, or half child, He made me reborn into His family.  This rebirth came not from the carnal drives of two humans joined, but from the intercourse of spirit, one loving the other into new life, and the new responding to that love in ever increasing holiness.  This sanctification, too, is the work of the same loving Holy Spirit, which calls, cares, and caresses our soul to passion for the Father in the name of the Son whose blood now washes over us, cleanses us, and fills us with the light of His saving love.

James 1:21 (NLT)

21 So get rid of all the filth and evil in your lives, and humbly accept the word God has planted in your hearts, for it has the power to save your souls.

The power to become holy has been deposited in those who are called to salvation, but it comes with a call to obedience, to turn away from the corrupting influences that plague us and rob us of relationship with the One who has claimed us.

Dear Father, today, help me to reflect the grace by which You called me to Your side.  Give me integrity of spirit, that I may not betray Your love, but demonstrate it in all my affairs.  Thank You for this one more day of Your provision and for abstinence from my addiction.

Psalm 139:23-24 (NLT)

23 Search me, O God, and know my heart;
test me and know my anxious thoughts.
24 Point out anything in me that offends you,
and lead me along the path of everlasting life.

