narrow ledgeCharles Spurgeon’s Morning and Evening devotional meditation for this morning was on Jude 24, “And to keep you from falling.”

Oh, if we are kept from falling, how must we bless the patient power which watches over us day by day! Think, how prone we are to sin, how apt to choose danger, how strong our tendency to cast ourselves down, and these reflections will make us sing more sweetly than we have ever done, “Glory be to him, who is able to keep us from falling.”

How prone I am to sin for sure, and to casting myself down!  The disorder of Man is to rebel then find shame in rebellion.  But the shame is not a call to despair or to engage in self-loathing; it is a call to return to the One who can keep us from falling into rebellion.  This is why Jesus repeated the words, “Abide in me” (or “remain in me” as some translations say) so many times in the first part of John 15.  It takes returning and remaining.

10 When you obey my commandments, you remain in my love, just as I obey my Father’s commandments and remain in his love. 11 I have told you these things so that you will be filled with my joy. Yes, your joy will overflow!  (John 15:10-11, NLT)

How many times have I blamed others to avoid shame, or shamed myself into paralysis and isolation rather than to return to God’s grace?  Our own defiance moves our feet onto troubling terrain, but still God holds us, being sure that when we finally stop straying we will not have fallen out of His hand.

Today, I am leaning back into the arms that hold me, content to rest in God’s provision for my life, and according to His will, not mine, to the glory of Jesus Christ, who gives me overflowing joy.  I am grateful for this, another abstinent day from compulsive eating, one day at a time.

For the past several weeks, I have been listening to DriveTime Devotions from Saddleback Church, and have thoroughly enjoyed them.  The world is busy trying to program us with its message of “you deserve” and “you don’t have enough” or “you won’t measure up without ____”.  I enjoy finding good, positive resources to program my mind with God’s good messages instead.   I encourage you to check it out.  I download the podcast to listen on the go, but there is an option to listen online too.  If you have a devotional you enjoy, please share it in the comment section of this post.  I would love to hear about it.

