Psalm 59-17Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

Today, I no longer just wish for relief from life’s problems. Thanks to my Higher Power and my program, I face life’s difficulties secure in the knowledge that I am carrying out God’s plan for my life.

I came into the rooms of OA seeking help with my eating problem.  What I found was so much better that I began to be grateful for the eating problem because it led me to recovery.  Who am I to say that every obstacle I face isn’t preparing me for something else, just like compulsive eating brought me to recovery?  Of course I sometimes pray that, if it is in God’s will that He let a bitter cup pass from me, but I am grateful to allow Him full access to me and my life so that He can carve away what needs to go and mold me into what I need to become.  It takes a little rubbing to get my rough edges off, so I don’t mind.

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Revelation 17, NIV:

14 They will wage war against the Lamb, but the Lamb will triumph over them because he is Lord of lords and King of kings—and with him will be his called, chosen and faithful followers.”

All nations and kingdoms are temporary but His.  Every beast, every head, every horn will be brought low before God and His Son, Jesus Christ, the Lamb.  My citizenship is with the King whose kingdom will last.  I have been called and chosen, and I choose to faithfully follow.  To Him I pledge my allegiance.

 

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “Riding the Rods”:

Material success has mattered little. But I know that my wants will be taken care of.

I expect to have difficulties every day of my life, I expect to encounter stops and hindrances, but now there is a difference. I have a new and tried foundation for every new day.

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

