Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

I had occasion last night to be with a suffering addict in a very crowded and noisy hospital emergency room.  As his agitation level rose, he announced that he felt uncomfortable in there, and began to search for an exit.  I calmly explained to him that what he sensed was suffering, and that it was what gave the staff there the passion to do their jobs, but for him it was a call to pray.  I promised him that if he prayed for those suffering around him, he would be blessed himself.  He was immediately calm and looked at me in a knowing stare, then declared, “You’re absolutely right!  I know that’s true.”  He stayed and got the help he needed.  It was a reminder to me that sometimes a little word of encouragement is all that is needed.

I had another great bit of news too.  A person I had written off as doomed to their addiction sent word to me that they had turned their life around, gotten clean, was resuming work at their old job, and wanted me to know.   God does amazing things even with us average people!  He brings hope to the hopeless and, somehow, manages to do so even when our faith in those hopeless runs out.  Praise God, the Highest Power!

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“I celebrate the miracle of my new life in OA” — For Today, p. 206

I remember when every milestone of time or success was a call to eat.  I don’t know why that is, but even allegedly normal eaters seem to associate cake with anniversaries, birthdays, promotions, and the like.  While I still rejoice when it is time to rejoice, I don’t celebrate with food.  In my recovery from food obsession and self-service, I don’t celebrate with a helping of food or self-service.  Instead, I celebrate progress with more progress, by submitting more of me to the Master who is doing His work.  After all, it’s God’s miracle!  Why would I celebrate it by taking back the resources He is using to do that miracle?

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Revelation 13, NIV:

Whoever has ears, let them hear.

10 “If anyone is to go into captivity,
into captivity they will go.
If anyone is to be killed[c] with the sword,
with the sword they will be killed.”[d]

This calls for patient endurance and faithfulness on the part of God’s people.

The call is for acceptance of what is to come, with patience and faithfulness, and that suggests that it applies to God’s people as well as the world at large.  I am reminded of the heroes of faith described in Hebrews 11, where Paul mentions that none of them received, while living, the things for which they hoped.  This points to the spiritual nature of faith.  Whether captive or killed, I will be faithful, believing that the One who can destroy soul and spirit will welcome me into His eternal care.  What can man do to me?  The flesh, though an important vehicle to move my spirit around to minister to other spirits, serves as a distraction from spiritual truths.  Whoever has Spirit ears, listen up!  The birth pains of the Kingdom of God are being felt already.

 

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “Acceptance”:

And acceptance is the answer to all my problems today. When I am disturbed, it is because I find some person, place, thing, or situation—some fact of my life —unacceptable to me, and I can find no serenity until I accept that person, place, thing, or situation as being exactly the way it is supposed to be at this moment. Nothing, absolutely nothing, happens in God’s world by mistake.

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

