Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“If we want to live free of the killing disease of compulsive eating, we accept help without reservation from a power greater than ourselves.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 19

You know what’s sick?  I still occasionally catch myself thinking that I can do something.  My wicked self-sufficiency wakes up, takes over, and says, “God, he may trust You with seventy percent, but concerning this thirty, I’ve got this!”  It is exactly that pride that precedes a crash and burn experience.  I am too happy to live free of the death-grip of food and self-service to reserve for myself even the smallest portion of the burden of my life.  In order to be free of the whole thing, I surrender it all to God.  No reservations!

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Revelation 12, NIV:

The great dragon was hurled down—that ancient serpent called the devil, or Satan, who leads the whole world astray. He was hurled to the earth, and his angels with him.

I am grateful for hints and helps included in this book of prophecy.  John begins this chapter, which continues into the next, by referencing “a sign in heaven” (verse 1).  Much follows that is representative of other things.  For instance, it is likely that the woman in the vision is Israel and not one Israelite woman.  In the excerpted verse nine, we are told in no uncertain terms what the dragon in the vision is: the one who has been seeking our destruction since the events of this chapter unfolded.  We are warned of the reality of his enmity with us again in verse 12, “But woe to the earth and the sea, because the devil has gone down to you!  He is filled with fury, because he knows that his time is short.”  We, the pursued (for the Church is spiritual Israel) are to be on guard.  Evil is not just a nebulous concept, nor is it merely the opposite of good; it plots, lurks, and actively seeks our destruction even if it can only settle for our distraction.

Lord, lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.  Yours is THE Power!

 

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 130:

This dream world has been replaced by a great sense of purpose, accompanied by a growing consciousness of the power of God in our lives. We have come to believe He would like us to keep our heads in the clouds with Him, but that our feet ought to be firmly planted on earth. That is where our fellow travelers are, and that is where our work must be done.

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

