Abstinent Today:

shark Me Week cardI am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

Though my birth certificate says I’m a year older today, I still feel younger today than I did five, ten, and maybe even fifteen years ago.  It’s hard to say, because this is just one day at a time.  Still, it’s the first day at a time I’ve ever been forty-five!  Today, as much as I would like to pretend I own the day or the universe, as once was my custom in many years past, I surrender the day to God, to build with me and to do with me as He wills.

The picture on the right is of a card I got this morning.  While hilarious, I am working against the urge to act like that.

Thank You, God, for life!

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Many of us tried fasting, with and without a doctor’s supervision. Usually we lost weight, but as soon as we started eating again, the compulsive eating behavior returned, along with the weight.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 10

I still fast.  But now I do it in between each reasonably planned meal.  As I go through my day, when food thoughts or marketing suggestions get in my way, I convert them to calls to prayer, and so remain satisfied with the Bread of Life, rather than with the latest toxin disguised as treat.  When the Lord is my portion and my cup, I will never be in want!

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Revelation 11, NIV:

15 The seventh angel sounded his trumpet, and there were loud voices in heaven, which said:

“The kingdom of the world has become
the kingdom of our Lord and of his Messiah,
and he will reign for ever and ever.”

Every time we pray the Lord’s Prayer, we pray for God’s will to be done on Earth as it is in Heaven.  We know that His perfect will is not always done on Earth, because we witness evil even as we, ourselves, perpetrate it in rebellion of His will.  Scripture refers to the spiritual forces of this world as corrupt (Ephesians 6:12, Colossians 2:8, 20), and as the Prince of Darkness as the ruler of this fallen world (John 12:31, 14:30).  The day will come, according to this Scripture, that the kingdom of earth will be overshadowed, overpowered, and overtaken by the Kingdom of Heaven.  Those of us that are of the Kingdom look forward to that Day with eager anticipation.  Fear of that Day is a healthy alarm to come into alignment with the Lord of the universe, the King of all kings.

Thank You, Great King, for liberating me from the tyrannical rule of King Self.  Help me lay him on Your altar and slay him there, so that I can serve You with integrity.

 

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 151:

The less people tolerated us, the more we withdrew from society, from life itself. As we became subjects of King Alcohol, shivering denizens of his mad realm, the chilling vapor that is loneliness settled down. It thickened, ever becoming blacker. Some of us sought out sordid places, hoping to find understanding companionship and approval. Momentarily we did—then would come oblivion and the awful awakening to face the hideous Four Horsemen—Terror, Bewilderment, Frustration, Despair. Unhappy drinkers who read this page will understand!

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

‡ From “Our Invitation to You” out of Overeater’s Anonymous:  “The OA recovery program is patterned after that of Alcoholics Anonymous. We use AA’s Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions, changing only the words ‘alcohol’ and ‘alcoholic’ to ‘food’ and ‘compulsive overeater.’

