Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“We pray about these things, not so we can get our way, but so we can bring our will regarding them into alignment with God’s will.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, pp. 94-95

I went several months thinking I was dually addicted – that I needed food and I needed to get my way.  I even called myself a “my-way addict” during a talk at a meeting once and noticed that every head in the place was bobbing, even the ones on people who didn’t know me.  I suddenly began to realize that I was not the only one suffering from a my-way addiction.  “Self-will,” as the big book of AA calls it, is not just an added problem on top of all my other problems.  It is the main problem!

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Revelation 10, NIV:

But in the days when the seventh angel is about to sound his trumpet, the mystery of God will be accomplished, just as he announced to his servants the prophets.”

The mystery has been announced for generations, yet it remains a mystery.  John was witness to things he was not allowed to reveal to us (verse 4).  We, the Church, are witnesses, by the very fact that there are so many divisions over interpretations of the symbols and prophecies in this book, that much remains mystery by the plan and will of God.  To add or detract from these words to promote one’s own understanding would be an act of the very self-will (or sin nature Romans 7:18, 25) from which Jesus died to save us.

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 60:

The first requirement is that we be convinced that any life run on self-will can hardly be a success. On that basis we are almost always in collision with something or somebody, even though our motives are good.

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

