Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

The admission that I have a problem with eating is the beginning of my willingness to recover.

I came to the rooms having already admitted I had a problem with eating.  Not knowing the jargon of our circles, I called myself a “food abuser,” recognizing that I was doing with food what substance abusers do with their substances, using it to medicate my emotional turmoil.  What I resisted was recognizing labels that I was obviously wearing already: words like “insanity,” “powerless,” and “addict.”  I reminded myself of so many alcoholics and addicts I had met before who back-paddled from the same words when the suggestion was made they might be addicted.  Nobody likes to admit weakness, until they discover how liberating it is to turn the futile struggle over to someone who can handle it.  I thank God for carrying my burdens.  I notice He isn’t even breaking a sweat!

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Revelation 9, NIV:

They were told not to harm the grass of the earth or any plant or tree, but only those people who did not have the seal of God on their foreheads.

There is a lot of pain and destruction described at the opening of the fifth and sixth scroll seals, but one seal that remains is the one marking the redeemed.  Paul explained that seal this way in Ephesians 1:13, “And you also were included in Christ when you heard the message of truth, the gospel of your salvation.  When you believed, you were marked in him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit.”  This will be a final type of Passover.  The difference is, instead of marking our doorposts and lintels with lambs blood (Exodus 12:7), our souls are marked with the Spirit of the Lamb of the world, Jesus Christ.

Dear Father, today, help me live according to the seal on my life, Your Spirit, and lay aside the deeds of the condemned flesh.  Let me bear the mark of “Redeemed by Jesus” rather than any labels this world has for me.  I thank You for daily liberating me for all eternity!

 

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 48:

In this respect alcohol‡ was a great persuader. It finally beat us into a state of reasonableness.

.

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

‡ From “Our Invitation to You” out of Overeater’s Anonymous:  “The OA recovery program is patterned after that of Alcoholics Anonymous. We use AA’s Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions, changing only the words ‘alcohol’ and ‘alcoholic’ to ‘food’ and ‘compulsive overeater.’

