I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time
I’ve got my training today, so I’m typing this on the fly, quick and simple.

From Today’s Entry in Voices of Recovery

For a compulsive overeater, eating is attached to emotions. We are never fully satisfied, no matter how much we eat because we are eating for emotional reasons rather that physical reasons.” A Plan of Eating, p.9

This is a “duh” kind of statement, but it commands respect and dictates action. We, who are recovering from this kind of eating must prioritize, plan, and provision healthy, regular meals so we don’t fall back into this trap. “What do I feel like eating?” Is not a question we should ever entertain. It should be replaced with, “What is God’s will for me to eat today?”

From Revelation 8

Revelation 8:4 The smoke of the incense, together with the prayers of God’s people, went up before God from the angel’s hand.

I realize that there is the falling asteroid named Wormwood and the darkening of the sun and stars, and death of a third of Earth in this chapter, but my favorite thing is that the prayers of the saints rise up to God like and with incense from His altar. Knowing that makes me want to breathe out some prayers!

