Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

Worlds Greatest Moocher“For many of us, our willingness to pay our own way is a sign that we are recovering and maturing emotionally.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 165

I’ll go one step farther and say that paying my way was an act of mending a past wrong, since I was also in the habit of getting all I could from any situation while contributing as little as possible.  In fact, I am convinced that compulsive overeating is a sort of hoarding that lives in our anxious fear that we won’t get enough or have our share.  Any hoarding goes against the trust we should have in a true relationship with God, our abundant Supplier.  Letting go, even of my fistful of dollars, exercises my trust and begins to mend a lifetime of mooching and grabbing.

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Revelation 6, NIV:

12 I watched as he opened the sixth seal. There was a great earthquake. The sun turned black like sackcloth made of goat hair, the whole moon turned blood red, 13 and the stars in the sky fell to earth, as figs drop from a fig tree when shaken by a strong wind. 14 The heavens receded like a scroll being rolled up, and every mountain and island was removed from its place.

There is apparently a succession of events, just as there is a succession of the seals, and a time to be waited for the completion of those events, just as the martyred saints were told in verse 11.  The breaking of this sixth seal precedes the terrestrial and cosmic destruction of the physical Earth, and the revelation of these events give warning of what will come.  There are several Scripture references to these events, and they all describe a frantic terror of mankind.  Even Noah’s flood was a foreshadowing of events to come when Adam’s generation will be complete.

Father, let me be about the work of Your grace and love, bringing in Your harvest of souls before time runs out and the fields are burned.  Keep me ever mindful that this is the priority and that all else is distraction.

 

From AA’s Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions, page 33:

True humility and an open mind can lead us to faith, and every A.A. meeting is an assurance that God will restore us to sanity if we rightly relate ourselves to Him.

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

‡ From “Our Invitation to You” out of Overeater’s Anonymous:  “The OA recovery program is patterned after that of Alcoholics Anonymous. We use AA’s Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions, changing only the words ‘alcohol’ and ‘alcoholic’ to ‘food’ and ‘compulsive overeater.’

