Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

It was good to meet with my brothers and sisters at church today!  Afterwards, I visited my parents to celebrate a family birthday.  It is getting easier to refrain from the customary celebratory food indulgences, but it is getting harder to watch others indulge without wanting to rescue them from their harmful habits.  I have to remember that Food Addiction is my problem and recovery is my choice.  Everyone else just needs my love and prayers, not my criticism.

I have decided to trim my daily writings a little by removing the digest of Proverbs.  I still plan to read a chapter a day, I just won’t be sharing on it daily.  With all my recently developed commitments, something has to give.  I am considering nixing the random literature reference (that is almost always the Big Book) too, but I will give it a few days and see how this goes.  Ideally, it would be nice to write on a single thought per day, like most blogs, but this is more of a recovery journal that a true “blog.”  Input is welcome by blog comment or email.

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

When I do a Ninth Step, I am facing my relationship problems head on.

Making amends to such people wherever possible means I am about the business of mending, of fixing the things I once broke with my defective character.  Mending doesn’t always involve, and it certainly doesn’t entirely consist of, apology.  A much more significant part of mending is exercising forgiveness.  While, other than turning them over to God, I have no control over my addiction or my character defects, what I am capable of and am responsible for is working toward mending my relationships as far as they rely on me.  I find that God uses my work in this step to help shape me into the answers to the prayers I pray in Step Seven.

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 3 John 1, NIV:

(I did it again!  I forgot to change the reference in yesterday’s post, so what should have read as “2 John 1” actually displayed as “1 John 6”.  I was wrong and I’m promptly admitting it.)

Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.

In this short letter, John opens with a greeting that I pray for all my fellows in recovery.  Notice that physical wellness seems to hinge on spiritual wellness.  How are you caring for your spiritual fitness?

 

 

From “the Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 85:

We feel as though we had been placed in a position of neutrality—safe and protected. We have not even sworn off. Instead, the problem has been removed. It does not exist for us. We are neither cocky nor are we afraid. That is how we react so long as we keep in fit spiritual condition.

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

