Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“My best thinking got me into trouble. I could ‘think’ my life to suit me; the only problem was that it didn’t work.” — For Today, p. 298

Yesterday I heard someone who should have known better say about some answered prayer, “It’s the power of positive thinking!”  No offense to Sir Norman Vincent Peale, but it is the power of God, not the power of thought, that changes things, and He seems to do so when we turn our flimsy wills over to His ultimate one.  I couldn’t think my way out of a wet paper bag!  I certainly couldn’t have done the more important things like rescue myself from food oblivion or saved my soul by positive thinking.

Will positive thinking help? Sure!  It stops doubt and unbelief in its tracks.  I’m not saying that positive thinking is not a good thing for mankind to do.  It’s just that it should never intercept God’s glory!  If I get on my knees to pray to God for deliverance, then when delivered thank my knees for liberty, I’ve missed the point and insulted God.  Thanking my own positive thinking is as ridiculous as thanking my knees – they are each a part of me that God created and developed for His purposes in my life.  I choose to rely upon God and give Him credit where my life turns to light.

From Proverbs 31, NIV:

Speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves,
for the rights of all who are destitute.
Speak up and judge fairly;
defend the rights of the poor and needy.

God believes in youI heard someone question God’s existence recently based on all the hunger and suffering in the world.  I was convicted by all that needs to be done that I am not doing.  While those of us who are privileged check our Facebook statuses and wonder what movie to watch, billions go without food, water, or basic necessities.  Why?  Because they are the opportunities for us to demonstrate our love.  Yet, we love ourselves too much to move; our schedules too much to bother; our couches too much to get up and do.   Instead of asking why there is so much suffering in the world, I am wondering why God still believes in us!

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 2 John 1, NIV:

Watch out that you do not lose what we[a] have worked for, but that you may be rewarded fully. Anyone who runs ahead and does not continue in the teaching of Christ does not have God; whoever continues in the teaching has both the Father and the Son.

Diligence, anyone?  There is a mandate not to give up what God has begun in us.  The second part of this reminds me of the Proverb that warns that the hasty miss the way.  (Proverbs 19:2)  Discipleship is not a one-time event.  Though its beginning is often marked by baptism, our rebirthing in water, we ought not let ourselves be deceived into believing that is all there is any more than our human growth should be complete in the birthing room.  We grow, we mature, we move from conception to adulthood.  God has given us physical bodies to see so that we can appreciate how our spirits are formed to completion.  We cannot rest content to toddle in our nurseries!

God, grow me according to Your will and good pleasure.  Bear fruit in my according to Your season.

From “the Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 12:

It was only a matter of being willing to believe in a power greater than myself. Nothing more was required of me to make my beginning. I saw that growth could start from that point. Upon a foundation of complete willingness I might build what I saw in my friend. Would I have it? Of course I would!

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

