I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.

I so need a day of rest! But today I spent a lot of time thinking about the curse of Man. You know:

“Cursed is the ground because of you; through painful toil you will eat food from it all the days of your life. 18 It will produce thorns and thistles for you, and you will eat the plants of the field. 19 By the sweat of your brow you will eat your food until you return to the ground, since from it you were taken; for dust you are and to dust you will return.” (Genesis 3:17-19 NIV)

The reason I thought so much of that today was because I was sweating my brows off through painful toil in the sun and ground! I started out my day thinking that I would commit to my two hours of school work and then I could get some sleep. Then I fell asleep during the first hour of school work. When I woke up, I realized I was in time to get to the gym before lunch, but after lunch I found myself craving a snooze. I decided I must do what I must do before I do what I want to do, which was sleep. So I’ve been in the sun since about 2:00, and I just came in because it is 8:00 and it has begun to get dark. But I really must sleep.

So I will leave you with this new song I’ve only heard a few times, but it really got me. If you have ever struggled, perhaps you will like it as much as I do.

The Struggle by Tenth Avenue North

 

Good night and God bless!

~tl

