Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Each day that we live well, we are well…” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 106

up and down graph arrowsHow do you recognize a day lived well?  Certainly one lived abstinent without harming anyone is a good place to start.  I would like to know that I have lived my one day at a time in such a way that exemplifies the mending process God is doing in me.  That my day was characterized by the Fruits of the Spirit, that I sought justice, loved mercy, and walked humbly with my God (Micah 6:8).  Wellness is when I am progressing toward perfection, not that I will attain it, but that I remain directed toward it like a compass heading.  The Dow Jones is reported at the close of the business day with a green arrow pointed up or a red arrow pointed down.  Today, my arrow is green and pointed up, and I am celebrating it as a day well lived.

 

From Proverbs 19, NIV:

Desire without knowledge is not good—
how much more will hasty feet miss the way!

plugged into the world and listeningI found a bank of resources that support my plans for my next career, and have been saturating myself in seminar recordings and celebrating with excitement the prospect of my future mission.  I have a long way to go though, and I need to remember this motivated spirit when the burden of my preparation gets heavy.  This verse is a, “Calm down now, son” from my Heavenly Father.  I am in no rush, but have a lot of knowledge to gain before I set out.  I am merely at the beginning of my educational preparation.  I also have to remember to remain committed to the one day at a time concept of selfless action and service.  Just because I am preparing to do service in the future does not give me license to omit the service opportunities that come my way today.  Hasty feet miss the Way!

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 2 Peter 2, NIV:

1 But there were also false prophets among the people, just as there will be false teachers among you. They will secretly introduce destructive heresies, even denying the sovereign Lord who bought them—bringing swift destruction on themselves. Many will follow their depraved conduct and will bring the way of truth into disrepute.

This is disturbing for a number of reasons, not the least of which is that these fearful heretics about whom the rest of the chapter speaks most harshly, are ones who were identified as “bought” by the Lord.  These are purchased followers of the Way of Truth bringing the Way into disrepute – Christians doing harm to the body and Name of the Church of Christ!  It puts me on alert for the falsehoods that might try to infect my faith, but also for the depraved conduct that I might perpetrate that would mar the reputation of my Lord and His Church.  They will be among us.

Lord, be glorified in my life.  Keep me from harming Your Church, but empower me to serve with love and humility according to Your will.  Amen!

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “On His Way”:

The simple words “Thy Will Be Done” and the simple ideas of honesty and of helping others are taking on a new meaning for me. I should not be surprised to find myself coming to the astounding conclusion that God, whoever or whatever He may be, is eminently more capable of running this universe than I am. At last I believe I am on my way.

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

