Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

With one hand rowing the Steps and the other hand rowing the Fellowship, I have no free hands with which to overeat. God is on board directing me to the dry land of a contented abstinence.

I liked this word picture of rowing in circles without one element or the other – the fellowship or the steps.  I think it takes one to understand the other. I am certain that I am much happier than I could otherwise ever be now that God is fully in charge.

 

From Proverbs 13, NIV:

A sluggard’s appetite is never filled,
but the desires of the diligent are fully satisfied.

I remember the years when I did and ate only what I wanted.  I spent a lot of time sitting in the dark watching TV and eating something different at almost every commercial break.  Even on the rare breaks I didn’t eat, I was still in the kitchen checking to see if the light in the refrigerator still worked.  Now that the twelve steps and my recovery fellowship have me busy, and practicing those principles in all my affairs has me even more busy, I have to be careful to make room in my schedule for meals according to my plan of eating.  There have been times when my meals are painfully inconvenient to the work I am trying to accomplish.  What a great fulfillment of this verse!  It’s nice being on the shiny side of the coin for a change.

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 1 Peter 1, NIV:

Though you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy, for you are receiving the end result of your faith, the salvation of your souls.

I am still considering ways to demonstrate love for my unseen God, and this reminded me of that mission and Matthew 25:40, which I posted Sunday.  I was asked tonight why I was involved in a particular ministry, and this desire to love on God, even if only by doing so through serving the brothers, even the least of them, was my answer.  The rest of the answer is in verse 9: because I am receiving my liberation, my renewal, my reconstruction; now I want to share what I am receiving with someone who might not otherwise take the opportunity to be filled with that inexpressible joy.

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 164:

See to it that your relationship with Him is right, and great events will come to pass for you and countless others. This is the Great Fact for us.

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

