;Abstinent Today:

I am a gratefully recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Those of us who live this program don’t simply carry the message; we are the message.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 106

It is an amazing miracle that I am a message of anything other than, “Don’t do what he’s doing or you’ll end up like him,” because that’s the message my whole life before recovery should have warned.  Today, I am a new message – one of vitality both physical and spiritual, and it is actually a lot of fun living it out.

 

From Proverbs 9, NIV:

6 Leave your simple ways and you will live;
walk in the way of insight.”

This cry of Wisdom sounds like the cry of every prophet to ever speak the words of the Holy Spirit when they said, “Repent!  Change your ways and live.”  God has never wanted anything for us but our wholeness, wellness, and relationship with Him.  Here is the Spirit described as the craftsman at God’s side when the world and we inhabitants of it were created, saying in essence, “Do it the right way that I will show you, the way We designed you, and you will find the best result.”

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in James 2, NIV:

26 As the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without deeds is dead.

faithJames is one of my favorite books of the Bible!  If I were to name it, I would call it “Practical Christianity” because it is packed with instructional tidbits that, when followed, help form a healthy Christian life.  Here is one we’ve all heard.  In fact, it’s even quoted in the ‘Big Book’ of Alcoholics Anonymous.  For some reason, though, it is one of the most widely ignored passages in the Bible.  In the context, James even points out that belief in God is useless, for even the demons, to their own terror, believe in God.  Our belief has to be something different than just an acceptance or an acknowledgment of His existence as a fact.  It has to be a laying of ourselves into the care of His hands, a sacrificing of our own will and way for the acts of service He orchestrates in our path.  That’s where deeds prove our faith, and the miracles begin to happen.

I’ve used this analogy before, but I like to think of a rope hanging over a ledge.  If I examine the rope and decide that it will support my weight I have come to a point of belief; but when I tie on and begin to lower myself down the ledge by its power alone, I have put my faith in the rope.  It is belief plus action that constitutes faith!  As we learned from Hebrews 11:6, “without faith it is impossible to please God.”

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous:

Faith without works was dead, he said. And how appallingly true for the alcoholic!  (From “Bill’s Story”)

Now we need more action, without which we find that “Faith without works is dead.” Let’s look at Steps Eight and Nine.  (page 76)

But this is not all. There is action and more action. “Faith without works is dead.” The next chapter is entirely devoted to Step Twelve. (page 88)

“Faith without works is dead. Carry this message to other alcoholics. You can help where no one else can.” (From “Promoted to Chronic”)

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

† For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

